Home > American Express > 2500 AmEx Membership Rewards points from a short visit to a BOSE Showcase Store.

2500 AmEx Membership Rewards points from a short visit to a BOSE Showcase Store.

Update: This is a valid promotion! I received a 2500 point certificate by e-mail within a week!

I tweeted about this when I found out about the promotion. I found out a bit later that BOSE recently opened a Showcase Store not too far off from my normal daily commute, so about 15 minutes of my time yielded 2500 MR points, which I value at about $35.

According to people who received promotional mail, the promotion says:

Attend a demonstration of the Bose Videowave II entertainment system at a Bose store near you and receive 2500 membership rewards points. Receive 20,000 more if you buy it.You will need to provide you name, e-mail address, and promotion code AMXTV. Expect to receive a bonus points certificate redeemable at membershiprewards.com/BonusPointsCert
While the promotional material was only mailed out to those in New York, it’s been expanded to all showcase stores in the U.S. All I did was walk in and say, “Hey, I’m here for the AmEx Membership Rewards points promo.” A salesman sat me down in front of the Videowave system and came back 5 minutes later with the paperwork. I had to give my name and email address, and I’ll be receiving the points voucher within the next 2 weeks. The guy didn’t even try to get me to buy anything (not like I would, given how overpriced stuff at the BOSE store is …).

Easiest 2500 points ever.

The promo goes until the end of August. If you don’t have an AmEx card enrolled in Membership Rewards, but are planning on getting one soon, you can still get the voucher and redeem it when you have an account. AmEx MR points can be transferred to programs like British Airways Avios, where 4500 Avios can be redeemed for a domestic flight under 650 miles on American Airlines. This is more than halfway to that!

Here’s a link to a list of all the BOSE stores in the USA. If one is out of your way, I’d call first and see if they are honoring the promotion. One thing to note is that the store which I visited didn’t know anything about it during the first week of the promotion, then honored it when I returned a week later. So, YM(R)MV.

Categories: American Express
  1. arcticbull
    August 7, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    Friend and I did this last week 🙂 Still waiting for my points, but I assume they’ll get here eventually heh. TV is definitely overpriced but the theatrics of the presentation left me quite impressed.

    • Amol
      August 8, 2012 at 2:03 am

      The BOSE stores definitely know how to put on a presentation! Though I just don’t think their products are worth the cost (even the noise-canceling headphones that many travelers love).

  2. arcticbull
    August 14, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Got my cert too 🙂 It’s been 2 days and it still hasn’t posted to my account, but I’ll give them a week before calling in.

    • Amol
      August 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm

      Nice! Mine posted within 24 hours.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

